Unrar / Unzip on XBOX 360 (RGH)

mickey79 Jun 20, 2013

  1. mickey79

    mickey79 Developer XPG Developer
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Burbank, California
    Console:
    Xbox
    Is there any utility / program / xex that can unrar or unzip a rar/zip file ON the XBOX 360 HDD. This is an RGH system. Just wondering.

    Thanks.
     
  2. X9Cinema

    X9Cinema Resident GFX Guru Lifetime Gold
    0/47

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    US
    Console:
    Xbox
    No not to my knowledge, all of this must be done on your pc.
     
  3. mickey79

    mickey79 Developer XPG Developer
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Burbank, California
    Console:
    Xbox
    I'm just having the strangest of issue that I can't seem to get past.

    I'm copying a Game to my XBOX 360 HDD (Not an ISO, but the actual Game folder). There are a few files in that folder that Refuse, absolutely REFUSE to copy over. They give an error "File handle is invalid". I have never experienced this before ever. I have tried 2 different PC's to copy the same file over to the XBOX 360 HDD and I still get the same error from both PC's - "File handle is invalid".

    Googling the problem didn't give me anything that applies to my scenario. Similar files in the same source folder are copying perfectly fine; same permissions / security & other file attributes. But these few files won't.

    I was hoping to give a shot to Archiving these files into Rar or Zip and then extracting them ON the XBOX 360, rather then through the PC.

    I even Ftp'd the files & same problem -- FTP won't even transfer the files.

    BUT -- You can transfer those files from PC to PC no problems; I can open them up (They are TXT files for the most part) and they are perfectly fine; not corrupted or anything.

    Very frustrated.
     
  4. xpghax

    xpghax Gold Section Mod/Uploader
    205/282

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,914
    Likes Received:
    3,972
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Location:
    in sidey's basement :(
    Console:
    Other
    what are the files exactly? as sometimes the file names prevent them being transferred via FTP client, no idea why like :lol:
     
  5. Shadow

    Shadow Watchers Staff Member XPG Moderator
    430/564

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    9,014
    Likes Received:
    1,420
    Trophy Points:
    430
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Floating in Space having a beer with the guy who d
    Console:
    Xbox One
    u need to post what files r they so peps can be in yr shoe and see what happing. ect :--Game, name of file and so on..
     
  6. mickey79

    mickey79 Developer XPG Developer
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Burbank, California
    Console:
    Xbox
    Here's an example:

    "BIK_E00_0_Intermission0_Infomercial_PTB.txt"

    This is for the game "Remember Me".

    I have tried:

    FTP
    PowerShell
    MS-DOS Copy
    MS-DOS XXCopy
    Windows Copy

    Every single program gives "File handle is invalid".

    But I can copy that file from one PC to another, or open it & see it's contents.
    Other files in the same folder, like "BIK_E01_0_Intermission1_CoffinIntro.txt" are copying over fine.

    EDIT

    Your "filename" comment holds some water. I renamed the file to "1.txt" and it copied over fine. It appears that all the files that have some characters in their filename after "BIK_E00_0_Intermission0_Infomercial" are NOT copying over; Only files who's names are limited to that length are copying over.

    But there's many files and I have two games I'm having this problem with; there's no way I can rename each on source, copy, and then rename correctly on destination.
     
  7. xpghax

    xpghax Gold Section Mod/Uploader
    205/282

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,914
    Likes Received:
    3,972
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Location:
    in sidey's basement :(
    Console:
    Other
    ok try renaming the files so they will copy over then once they have copied over,rename them back to original name, keep a record of which file has which name so file 1 would rename to .1 but originally it would of been bla blah etc etc, get what i mean?
     
  8. mickey79

    mickey79 Developer XPG Developer
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Burbank, California
    Console:
    Xbox
    Yeah, it's just a pain. I have 14 files in "Remember Me" and 24 files in "Resident Evil Revelations" that have this problem. Will take half my day to do the renaming, copying & renaming again! Wish there was a better way.

    Appreciate it man - thanks.
     
  9. pr

    pregi Lifetime Gold Lifetime Gold
    35/47

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Console:
    Xbox
    mh
    i got same problem with remember me, i copied those 14 files over with shorter filenames, but i cant rename them back completely because theres 1 char too much, filenames are 43 chars...

    any suggestions?
     
  10. To

    ToKillOrNotToKill Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    I kinda just skipped those files, since it's either run it GoD or using a disc.
     
  11. mickey79

    mickey79 Developer XPG Developer
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Burbank, California
    Console:
    Xbox
    mh
    i got same problem with remember me, i copied those 14 files over with shorter filenames, but i cant rename them back completely because theres 1 char too much, filenames are 43 chars...

    any suggestions?


    Exact same thing happening on my end; renamed all the files & copied them over to the XBOX 360 HDD, but it won't allow me to rename them back. 1 character too many. I didn't realize there was a restriction on filename length. I thought it was a Windows thing.

    I kinda just skipped those files, since it's either run it GoD or using a disc.


    Are you able to play the game without those files? I want to use the trainer so can't do GoD or Disc; won't be able to use a trainer then.

    I know these are language translation files so more then likely can be skipped -- but bigger problem is going to be with "RE: Revelation", there's 24 files having this issue & some are texture files.

    Can't believe there's no solution to this issue.
     
  12. To

    ToKillOrNotToKill Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    I don't know, haven't checked yet.

    You can use a trainer with GoD, run the launcher, and then the game.
     
  13. pr

    pregi Lifetime Gold Lifetime Gold
    35/47

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Console:
    Xbox
    cant run the game. says disc error :-/

    i'm tryin to make a god and run it like this

    EDIT:
    god runs without any problems.
    thank you :)
     
  14. mickey79

    mickey79 Developer XPG Developer
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Burbank, California
    Console:
    Xbox
    My problem is, how would you use the trainer with GoD games?

    Typically, trainers have .xex files that you place in the same folder as the "default.xex" file. With GoD, you don't get the files and therefore you don't get the "default.xex" file. So where would you place the trainer xex and how would you launch it?

    EDIT:

    Also, how do I convert my extracted game to GoD format? I have the jTag rip of the game -- not the ISO.
     
  15. mickey79

    mickey79 Developer XPG Developer
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    189
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Burbank, California
    Console:
    Xbox
    GoD method worked; Trainer works with GoD (Just have to load trainer before game). Everything is working cool. Thanks guys.
     

Share This Page

Close