Destiny 2's First DLC Expansion Is Called Curse of Osiris - We're Going To Mercury

Jonny Weston Sep 9, 2017

  1. Jonny Weston

    Jonny Weston
    XPG Administrator XPG Developer

    Jan 25, 2017
    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    You're probably still getting used to all of the stuff in Destiny 2's base game, but we already know what its first DLC expansion will be about: Mercury.


    As in the closest planet to the sun, not the only metal that's liquid at room temperature. A listing on the Microsoft Store revealed a title and some gameplay details for Expansion 1: Curse of Osiris and Activision has confirmed to Game Informer that the listing is indeed legitimate.

    Here's the text from the store:

    "Destiny 2 Expansion I: Curse of Osiris continues your Guardian’s journey with all-new story missions and adventures set in a new destination, Mercury. Journey through time and space to learn the secrets of Osiris, avert a dark future, and rebuild the ties between the legendary Warlock and his greatest student - Ikora Rey.


    - Explore Mercury and its mysterious 'Infinite Forest'

    - New story missions and adventures

    - New themed weapons, armor, and gear to earn

    - New cooperative activities

    - New competitive multiplayer arenas

    - And more…"

    The most tantalizing morsel in there is the name "Infinite Forest", which likely refers to the new in-game destination. Is it really infinite, implying some kind of Minecraft-style, paradoxically procedural landmass generation, or is that term metaphorical? Mercury is a Vex-dominated world, so maybe "infinite" refers to their timeline-tweaking shenanigans. Imagine how cool it would be to explore a whole new zone infused with Vault-of-Glass style time travel!

    Curse of Osiris will compose the first half of the $34.99/£29.99 Destiny 2 expansion pass. We still don't know when either DLC expansion is set to arrive, unfortunately.

    Source: Games Radar

Share This Page