Wii Wii Black & White?

Taylzx Aug 17, 2012

  1. Taylzx

    Taylzx Engineer Lifetime Gold
    0/47

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Midgar
    Console:
    Xbox
    Yeah my dad just got a new HDTV and when i try to connect the Wii the output on the screen is just black and white i've tried using all the different ports (whatever there called) and it just stays black and white :\
     
  2. ADDZ

    ADDZ ( * Y * ) Staff Member XPG Founder
    565/752

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,900
    Likes Received:
    6,681
    Trophy Points:
    565
    Location:
    Behind you sniffing your hair!
    Console:
    Playstation 4
    Is there a format setting on the TV that might help?
     
  3. Rocky

    Rocky "Who dares wins" Lifetime Gold XPG Retired Staff
    640/752

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13,773
    Likes Received:
    9,741
    Trophy Points:
    640
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    SAS Captain
    Location:
    Task Force 141
    Console:
    Xbox One
    Are you using the Yellow/Red/White Component Cable?
     
  4. Taylzx

    Taylzx Engineer Lifetime Gold
    65/94

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Midgar
    Console:
    Xbox
    Tried it did nothing :\
     
  5. Taylzx

    Taylzx Engineer Lifetime Gold
    65/94

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Midgar
    Console:
    Xbox
    Yeah he is
     
  6. Rocky

    Rocky "Who dares wins" Lifetime Gold XPG Retired Staff
    640/752

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13,773
    Likes Received:
    9,741
    Trophy Points:
    640
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    SAS Captain
    Location:
    Task Force 141
    Console:
    Xbox One
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Taylzx

    Taylzx Engineer Lifetime Gold
    65/94

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Midgar
    Console:
    Xbox
    Mine goes, Red-white-red-white-red-blue-green
    Guessing i'm gonna need a newer cable?
     
  8. Rocky

    Rocky "Who dares wins" Lifetime Gold XPG Retired Staff
    640/752

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13,773
    Likes Received:
    9,741
    Trophy Points:
    640
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    SAS Captain
    Location:
    Task Force 141
    Console:
    Xbox One
    I'm sure it should have a Yellow one aswell?
     
  9. Taylzx

    Taylzx Engineer Lifetime Gold
    65/94

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Midgar
    Console:
    Xbox
    it doesn't :|
     
  10. Rocky

    Rocky "Who dares wins" Lifetime Gold XPG Retired Staff
    640/752

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13,773
    Likes Received:
    9,741
    Trophy Points:
    640
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    SAS Captain
    Location:
    Task Force 141
    Console:
    Xbox One
    Is that the Cable?
     
  11. Wallsch

    Wallsch Lifetime Gold Lifetime Gold
    185/188

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,647
    Likes Received:
    528
    Trophy Points:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wausau, Wi
    Console:
    Computer
    Blue and green are HD spots. To plug in standard you must have red white and yellow. Red whit are left and right speaker audio. Yellow, blue and green are video. Blue green being HD only. I think there is another HD video color too but I forget.
     
  12. MysteriousRyan

    MysteriousRyan Liek a Boss!
    0/47

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    North Wales ( U.K )
    Console:
    Xbox
    if it's black and while it could be the Hz (Hertz) on the tv do not support HD from what i've been reading, if you haven't changed the wii settings to 480i in the wii menu, i suggest you doing that, if that doesn't work i also suggest going back to SD component cable (Red, while and yellow). :)
     
  13. joemike

    joemike Newbie BANNED
    0/47

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Console:
    Xbox
    i dont know maybe something is broken?
     
  14. 1abstract1

    1abstract1 Lifetime Gold Lifetime Gold
    0/47

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    U.S.
    Console:
    Xbox
    Maybe one of the "white" is a faded yellow? I have never heard of two white in one. Try putting one "white" in a yellow switch them if it wont work. It is at least worth a shot! If you get nothing try to set up something else that uses the same cables to make sure the television isn't the issue. Even though it's new it can be messed up!
     
  15. XPGCaboose

    XPGCaboose XPG Lifer TeamXPG
    0/47

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,016
    Likes Received:
    707
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California, USA
    Console:
    Xbox
    those are component cables and need to match those to the tv. you should have a red white yellow and he is probably using the green or blue plugged into the yellow on the tv which is why it's black and white.
     

Share This Page

Close