What I will need to flash phat liteons

Th3AntiNoob Apr 25, 2011

  1. Th

    Th3AntiNoob Newbie
    155/188

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right now I have a maximus xtractor pro and a vampire spear. I recently tried to flash a drive by doing the method of using that without a rebuild board that is featured in the JungleFlasher tutorial (that pdf file that's like 250 pages). I keep getting a 0x52 error and then it dawned on me that I'm not sure my maximus is hooked up to my computer right. It's hooked up via usb and I know I have my VIA card setup right. So I don't know if theres something special I should do with that.


    But moving on. I want to just forget the whole maximus and what I have because I'm not sure my trace cutting is okay. I want to do the solder free method that is also featured in the JungleFlasher tutorial. I know I will need a ck3 probe and some kind of connector. I think I will need the pro version. I don't wanna pay 60 for all that stuff but I guess I'll have to. Now the other thing I am confused about is how would I hook it to my computer. Like I said I have a VIA card that I will hook my drive to on the SATA side. I'm confused on if I will need to hook the CK3 Pro (or whatever I need) up through my usb port or whether I will need to hook something up differently.


    Pretty much I need to know what equiptment I will need and how I will need to hook it up. I can follow the tutorials I've seen once it's hooked up I just need some help in that department.


    Also if I can unload my maximus and vampire with some rebuild boards I would like to. I don't know if I can BST on this site but I'll just ask for the name of a site where people tend to buy these things.


    Thanks for any help in advance!
     
  2. XPGCaboose

    XPGCaboose XPG Lifer TeamXPG
    0/47

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,016
    Likes Received:
    707
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California, USA
    Console:
    Xbox
    For me personally i use a CK3 Pro with Probe 2. My motherboard recognizes my xbox drives so i don't use my VIA card anymore. How i connect mine when i flash all drives is:

    Sata Cable from PC to XBOX360 Drive. If you are using VIA card make sure you are in port 1 which is usually closest to the front of the PC. Also make sure you remove the windows drivers.
    USB Cable from CK3 Pro to PC.
    Power Injector from wall to CK3 Pro

    Also if this is your xbox i would consider getting the LT+ clip so you don't have to repair your trace cuts and it will be so much easier in the future.
     
  3. Th

    Th3AntiNoob Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The point of me wanting to use this PMT method is to avoid soldering. I should be able to do that correct? And if I hook my stuff up the same way as you it should all work right?
     
  4. madasahat

    madasahat Official XPG Spastic
    155/188

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    6,089
    Likes Received:
    558
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    LUFC
    Console:
    Computer
    CK3 Pro and a probe v3 is all you need and your ready to go (plus a compatable sata card as onboard are ususall poo!!)
     
  5. Th

    Th3AntiNoob Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Perfect! That's what I needed to know!
     
  6. Th

    Th3AntiNoob Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where can I buy these 2 products cheapest? I've been looking around but don't know where to buy.
     
  7. SC

    SCSA_316 Guest

    look on ebay seems to be the cheapest :D
     
  8. madasahat

    madasahat Official XPG Spastic
    155/188

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    6,089
    Likes Received:
    558
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    LUFC
    Console:
    Computer
    uk or us?
     
  9. Th

    Th3AntiNoob Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm in the US
     

Share This Page

Close