Simple Xbox 360 Error into Worse!!

ADDZ Jan 9, 2013

  1. AD

    ADDZ Guest

    This morning I got an Xbox 360 to fix that had 0031 and I remember seeing a member just a day or 2 ago with the same problem, I done a reflow because it's normally RAM or Southbridge cold solder joints.

    ...after I reflowed and removed the x-clams I then thought about the topic I seen the other day and it said it could be a dvd cab;e problem so thought I'd have a look since it was RRoD as soon as it was on, it didn't try to boot (before the reflow) and BOOM HEADSHOT the cable was in the wrong way round by the previous owner!!

    ......so I put her back together and it tried to boot until 0103!!!!!

    Shorted resister under the GPU:

    [​IMG]


    Moral of this story is to check the simple things before you try the more tricky because it could save you a pain in the neck.

    Off to try fix the 0103 error now :(
     
  2. Tony B

    Tony B Ťサ∑ ㄕ◊к∑㎡◊и Lifetime Gold
    75/94

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,294
    Likes Received:
    717
    Trophy Points:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    Console:
    Xbox One
    :LOL: I wonder if the reversed cable was the reason the previous owner sold it. Maybe he thought it was broken. How much did you pay? :LOL: :troll:
     
  3. AD

    ADDZ Guest

    That's what I thought but now it looks like they tried to fix the other error because it doesn't seem to fix. It's not mine so I don't know how much they paid for it.
     
  4. splatsters

    splatsters PS3 Section Mod Gold Subscriber
    155/188

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,876
    Likes Received:
    376
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Location:
    In the bush like a pepping tom
    Console:
    Xbox
    I got one here that powers and shuts down with 3 rrod :(
     
  5. AD

    ADDZ Guest

    New errors FTW lol, thought we seen them all matey :LOL:
     
  6. splatsters

    splatsters PS3 Section Mod Gold Subscriber
    155/188

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,876
    Likes Received:
    376
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Location:
    In the bush like a pepping tom
    Console:
    Xbox
    just looked at mine and its 0002 error :|
     
  7. scunnyemce

    scunnyemce Loading ......... Lifetime Gold
    75/94

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Scunthorpe
    Console:
    Xbox
    i have 4 of um m8 at a dead end with um to be honest just gathering dust my house looks like a xbox graveyard bits all over :LOL:
     
  8. AD

    ADDZ Guest

    ...this one is HDMI and the guy said it's been dead a while too so wanted to get it working to see what the dash was!!
     
  9. AD

    ADDZ Guest

    I have some like that 0001, 0002 & 0003 but can't be bothered with the motifs so they are left in the grave with the others.
     
  10. splatsters

    splatsters PS3 Section Mod Gold Subscriber
    155/188

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,876
    Likes Received:
    376
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Location:
    In the bush like a pepping tom
    Console:
    Xbox
    I want to give it a go i do today always wanted to fix one of them

    wonder if i can multimeter the mostifs to see which one has gone
     
  11. AD

    ADDZ Guest

    You need to unsolder them 1st as far as i know that's why I give up with that, I couldn't get them off anyway and lost the nozzle from my heat gun
     
  12. splatsters

    splatsters PS3 Section Mod Gold Subscriber
    155/188

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,876
    Likes Received:
    376
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Location:
    In the bush like a pepping tom
    Console:
    Xbox
    ive gave up haha
     

Share This Page

Close