I just ordered an AlienWare, is it good enough to play games?

XPGProgrammer Feb 28, 2013

  1. XPGProgrammer

    XPGProgrammer Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Console:
    Xbox
    Hey guys, I just ordered an Alienware PC. It cost $3200+.. The girl said that it's gonna be good for the next 7 years.

    What you guys think?
     
  2. X9Cinema

    X9Cinema Resident GFX Guru Lifetime Gold
    0/47

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    US
    Console:
    Xbox
    Specs would help not price lol.​
     
  3. XPGProgrammer

    XPGProgrammer Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Console:
    Xbox
    Well, I don't really remember lol.

    I just remember the RAM.. it has 16GB of RAM.
     
  4. X9Cinema

    X9Cinema Resident GFX Guru Lifetime Gold
    0/47

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    US
    Console:
    Xbox
    And you spent 3200 on it??
     
  5. Beatfreaka

    Beatfreaka Meat Popsicle Lifetime Gold
    0/47

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Portland, OR, USA
    Console:
    Xbox
    Ha my best friend just got an alienware computer and its friggen badass!! It is super fast with tons of ram and almost a terabyte hard drive, I7 processor and a graphics card good enough to play Diablo 3 flawlessly, and you can change the color of the lights on the alien eyes and the lights on the outside of the case... Really cool computer.. He only paid $1000 us for it....I don't think he has as much ram as you though.. and I think the processor is clocked at 3.4ghz or something close to that
     
  6. XPGProgrammer

    XPGProgrammer Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Console:
    Xbox
    I was able to go at 32GB but wouldn't be useful. I have alot of good things in it. The processor and other things ;). The only thing I know is that it can runs Battlefield 2 in full HD.
     
  7. XPGProgrammer

    XPGProgrammer Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Console:
    Xbox
    I think he has the old one, there's some better one and I bought the best one :D
     
  8. X9Cinema

    X9Cinema Resident GFX Guru Lifetime Gold
    0/47

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    US
    Console:
    Xbox
    Seems like you spent allot on, something you know little about?
     
  9. XPGProgrammer

    XPGProgrammer Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Console:
    Xbox
    It has a 3GB Graphic card, I think it's a Radeon 7950 HD or something like that and a hard drive of 1TB, ect...
     
  10. Beatfreaka

    Beatfreaka Meat Popsicle Lifetime Gold
    0/47

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Portland, OR, USA
    Console:
    Xbox
    processor speed? Multiple processors? or cores or whatever you wanna call em..
     
  11. BxRKings

    BxRKings Developer XPG Developer Lifetime Gold TeamXPG
    135/188

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,162
    Likes Received:
    849
    Trophy Points:
    135
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    BxRCo., Ltd.™©
    Console:
    Xbox
    That's pretty epic, but just a friendly reminder. When you pay for AlienWare your mostly paying for the Name. It's easier to Build your own or purchase a decent one and order parts separate.

    16GB of RAM is a bit overkill, but it's good to have in case you play and Games that like over kill or use any process that need it.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. Last1Standing

    Last1Standing XPG Addict Gold Subscriber
    155/188

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,845
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    U.S.A
    Console:
    Xbox
    I have done extensive research on alienware and came to the conclusion they have good computers. But I prefer building one or having someone do it like I have done. [​IMG]
     
  13. Swiftus

    Swiftus Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sol 3
    Console:
    Playstation 4
    Cheaper to build faster and better. Alienware are overpriced nonsense. But if you are happy with you're purchase, enjoy

    Sent from my GT-I9100 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
     
  14. XPGCaboose

    XPGCaboose XPG Lifer TeamXPG
    155/188

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,016
    Likes Received:
    710
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    California, USA
    Console:
    Xbox
    totally agree with this.


    also you know that alienware was purchased by Dell correct?
     
  15. Me

    Member Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    Alienware's are WAY overpriced.. You should build your own computer, much cheaper..

    What are you planning to do with 16GB of ram? 8GB should of been more than enough..

    But it's your money :)
     
  16. BxRKings

    BxRKings Developer XPG Developer Lifetime Gold TeamXPG
    135/188

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,162
    Likes Received:
    849
    Trophy Points:
    135
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    BxRCo., Ltd.™©
    Console:
    Xbox
    Yes i know that.
     
  17. De

    DeathFromTurds Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    They are not worth the price.
     
  18. DirtyDozza

    DirtyDozza Stoner Gold Subscriber
    0/47

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Console:
    Xbox
    always build your own imo got qll this other than ram and fan contoller so having to wait till monday to build it
    sabertooth Z77

    I7 3700k

    Corsair dominator platinum 2x4gb 1600mhz

    corsair H60 2013 model

    EVGA gtx 6600

    ocz vertex 4 240gb ssd

    3x WD green 2tb HDD's

    antec truepower new 650w (bought last sept)

    zalman z11 pluss case and zalman 6 fan controller (cant remember model)

    2x ihas 524b's

    my £900 budget went out the
    window after about 4 parts just under £1700 altogether got everything
    today as well apart from the ram ive got a spare 8gb ripjaws but going
    to leave it till monday to build fan controller should be here as well by then
     

Share This Page

Close