Xbox Slim - What hard drive do you use?

TheUnknownGamer Jun 14, 2014

  1. TheUnknownGamer

    TheUnknownGamer Fear
    0/47

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Console:
    Xbox One
    Basically, I contacted Microsoft asking whether I could use a 120 GB HDD in the new Xbox 4GB Slim I ordered and they said "No, it wouldn't work". I'm getting the impression it would but can't stop thinking about someone saying " It counts as system tampering".

    It's just stupid as I'm inserting an official hard drive into a new console ..

    What HDD do you use personally?

    I might just stick with a 32 GB USB for now -.-
     
  2. XPG Darkside

    XPG Darkside Eating cake.... Gold Subscriber Lifetime Gold
    460/564

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    5,012
    Trophy Points:
    460
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Eating cake.
    Location:
    In Rockys Fridge....
    Console:
    Xbox One
    360 slims if I remember use a 2.5 laptop HDD and I'm sure you can use a WD Blue 500gb hdd in there providing you have used HDD Hacker on the drive so the xbox recognizes it.
     
  3. TheUnknownGamer

    TheUnknownGamer Fear
    0/47

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Console:
    Xbox One
    It's just becoming a pain, man =/ I just needed a new xbox not realizing that this much stupidness could come from a 4GB Slim.
     
  4. YoutubeGuru

    YoutubeGuru Newbie BANNED
    0/47

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Console:
    Xbox
    Exactly what i did, took about an hour of me learning how to do it.
     
  5. XPG Darkside

    XPG Darkside Eating cake.... Gold Subscriber Lifetime Gold
    460/564

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    5,012
    Trophy Points:
    460
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Eating cake.
    Location:
    In Rockys Fridge....
    Console:
    Xbox One
    Yeah they are unless you want to shed out like for a official 250GB hdd if you google HDD hacker there is a guide on how to do it will all the tools you need.
     
  6. TheUnknownGamer

    TheUnknownGamer Fear
    0/47

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Console:
    Xbox One
    Does it count as "tampering"? Man, I'm gonna have to purchase another year of XBL a long with a 250 GB hard drive. On top of a new slim I just bought, money money money /facepalm
    For the time being, think I would be able to use a 32 GB USB?
     
  7. XPG Darkside

    XPG Darkside Eating cake.... Gold Subscriber Lifetime Gold
    460/564

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    5,012
    Trophy Points:
    460
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Eating cake.
    Location:
    In Rockys Fridge....
    Console:
    Xbox One
    M$ will tell you that so you don't do it...

    Technically it's as you're messing with the console but it's only a HDD not like you're flashing the drive to run THE SITE THAT CANNOT BE MENTIONED FOR LEGAL REASONS games ect..

    As always when doing any console mods or messing with it you are in breach of TOS.
     
  8. YoutubeGuru

    YoutubeGuru Newbie BANNED
    0/47

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Console:
    Xbox
    Exactly what i did, took about an hour of me learning how to do it.
    Yes it does counts as tampering. I bought me a 320 GB harddrive for 50$ off of ebay not much
     
  9. TheUnknownGamer

    TheUnknownGamer Fear
    0/47

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Console:
    Xbox One
    Guess I'll hunt down a 250 GB. I'm kinda leaving the whole modding and flashing business for a while. New profile, new console, etc ;)

    As always, thank both.
     
  10. xACHILLIESx

    xACHILLIESx Member
    25/47

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    25
    Console:
    Xbox One
     
  11. gameroms

    gameroms XPG
    0/47

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    437
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    US
    Console:
    Xbox One
    buy the WD 320gb and I'll mod the security sector for you free, MS will never know because I have been running a WD 320gb in my live console forever, prob 18mts.

    $38 - This is the exact model that I'm running in mine WD Blue 320gb BPVT
    http://www.amazon.com/Blue-320-Mobile-Hard-Drive/dp/B0037NYQ7K/ref=sr_sp-atf_title_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1402984041&sr=8-1&keywords=Wd+blue+320gb

    If you do this you might want to get a slim hdd case, bu I just use mine without the case.
    http://www.amazon.com/Drive-Enclosure-Replacement-Shell-Microsoft/dp/B0089GWZ82/ref=sr_sp-atf_title_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1402984564&sr=8-3&keywords=xbox+360+slim+hdd+case

    Have it shipped to me and I'll mod it and send it out the same day I receive it, guaranteed.

    No need to waste money on a WD Blue 500gb because there was never an official 500gb hdd and i think it just moodded to report as the official 320gb for the security check & uses the 320gb ss so the console will only see 320gb, I think.
     
  12. jkd37

    jkd37 Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    In bed
    Console:
    Playstation 4
    Have been using a WD 250gb using hdd hacker for years in my 4gb on live, no probs at all.
     

Share This Page

Close