xbox freezing?

XPG Paddy Apr 5, 2013

  1. XPG Paddy

    XPG Paddy FTP Staff Lifetime Gold
    0/47

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6,403
    Likes Received:
    903
    Trophy Points:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Console:
    Xbox
    Ok My friends xbox freezes after the first 10 mins when u turn it on then u have to just restart it and wait for it to cool down is this an issue with the gpu and cpu needing to be repasted?

    Does anyone have any ideas on what this is it doesn't have the rrod But i think its been fixed from the rrod of before.


    [​IMG]
     
  2. Wallsch

    Wallsch Gold Member Gold Subscriber Lifetime Gold
    185/188

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,651
    Likes Received:
    527
    Trophy Points:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wausau, Wi
    Console:
    Computer
    The first thing I would try would be cleaning it out.
     
  3. jayt180703

    jayt180703 i think ive broke it
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    PLAYBOY MANSION .
    Console:
    Xbox
    yes mate sounds like the clamp fix has only fixed it temporarily you could try another fix use artic mx2 paste from pc world its the best ive used so far but it may only last so long again .

    best bet is to possibly get it reflowed if you know anyone on here that can do it for you .
     
  4. XPG Paddy

    XPG Paddy FTP Staff Lifetime Gold
    185/188

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6,403
    Likes Received:
    903
    Trophy Points:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Console:
    Xbox
    @ wallsch
    oh right well picture is updated see what u guys think i think it needs either repasting on gpu or reflowing on gpu not sure u think paste will sort it?
     
  5. XPG Paddy

    XPG Paddy FTP Staff Lifetime Gold
    185/188

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6,403
    Likes Received:
    903
    Trophy Points:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Console:
    Xbox
    ok will take a look man :)
     
  6. jayt180703

    jayt180703 i think ive broke it
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    PLAYBOY MANSION .
    Console:
    Xbox
    id just try repasting the gpu first mate buy a kit with the viynl washers etc if that ones been repasted before and had the original clamps put back on that is .

    or if its got a fixing kit on it try tweaking the screws a little see if it helps .
     
  7. borris1

    borris1 Lifetime Gold Lifetime Gold
    0/47

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chester, United Kingdom
    Console:
    Xbox
    This sounds like its gonna e74

    Try this
    what you will need - Heat Gun, Liquid Flux, Artic silver 5 or simliar

    1- take xbox aprt
    2- take x-clamps off
    3- clean chips
    4- use heat good on chips in a circle motion for 2 minutes (thats what i do)
    5 await till cool
    6 apply new paste
    7- either bolts or xclamps
    8 should work fine :D
     
  8. IIEvolution85II

    IIEvolution85II Gamerscore Wreckage :) Gold Subscriber
    0/47

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4,880
    Likes Received:
    705
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    XPG all the Time!!!!
    Console:
    Xbox
    Exactly what he said ;)

    Learn from the best :p

    A proper reflow is the proper solution but that will cost a bit unless you know someone with a station ;)
     
  9. XPG Paddy

    XPG Paddy FTP Staff Lifetime Gold
    185/188

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    6,403
    Likes Received:
    903
    Trophy Points:
    185
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Console:
    Xbox
    Thanks for help everyone just got back as its been a busy afternoon!

    What I did was clean it out Lol then It RROD lmao.

    Then I pasted the gpu and then reflowed the gpu and ram chips as it was 0102. Seems to Be working perfect now and hopefully it stays strong! ( iT had xclamps inside :( and the person who ever fixed last time didn't do a good job the paste was every where :/ ) But its all up and running atm ! Been so for over an hour constant :D
     
  10. borris1

    borris1 Lifetime Gold Lifetime Gold
    0/47

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chester, United Kingdom
    Console:
    Xbox
    mo problem mate glad i helped you out let us no when it goes again ;)
     

Share This Page

Close