[Tutorials]Webservers - Servers - VPS

Iamcoolz Aug 28, 2014

1. Iamcoolz

Iamcoolz Forum Administrator Staff Member XPG Administrator
    55/94

Console:
    Xbox One
    So after being with this forum for some time, I have seen a spike in talking regarding Web-servers, dedicated servers, and VPS's. I work with all of these on a daily basis, and I am well aware of the good ones and the not so good ones, I will also show you some ways how to best secure your server upon purchase. I am a Geek Squad Security Consultant for a private company inside of Best Buy. I currently have several certifications in this field, and have read SEVERAL books. So let's move on:

Web-Servers
    What is a web server? What does it do? Is it secure off installation? What is a normal cost?

What is a web server?
    A web server to my own definition, is a server specifically built and optimized to run a website, FTP, or even a forum. (Note: I am aware, websites and forums are generally the same, I am just specifying a different way a web-server would be used).

What does it do?
    A webserver can do multiples of things, regarding HTTP or FTP. HTTP and FTP are the main protocols inside of a webserver and are used almost all the time. If you're going to be hosting a website of any kind whether it be a blog, forum, journal, anything really. Web-servers will be your best bet.

Is it secure off installation?