Xk3y not working

spitfire0852 Aug 13, 2013

  1. sp

    spitfire0852 Newbie
    35/47

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    When I turn on my Xbox and hit open/close tray it doesn't say mixed media disk it says open tray again, and I changed the ISO menu from N to Y and I don't have the remote so I left the USB sit in the xk3y USB port for a couple min to let it update then I shut off my Xbox and switched out my USB for the one I have the ISO on in the games folder (maxell 16GB) then I waited a min or two so that the flash drive could be detected so then I opened/closed tray but it still won't work. I also formatted the USB with the ISO to NTFS because that's the only one that would work for the ISO file. My drive is a DG-16D4S FW 0225. Can someone please help?
     
  2. Oodxboxlive

    Oodxboxlive Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    French
    Console:
    Xbox
  3. xIIJazza

    xIIJazza Gods divine one
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Console:
    Xbox
    Could be your ff cable, Try unplugging the usb witht he ff cable going into it for a few seconds and plug it back in. It's what I usually do.
     
  4. sp

    spitfire0852 Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    I think it's my flashdrive not getting enough power cuz it won't light up
     
  5. xIIJazza

    xIIJazza Gods divine one
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Console:
    Xbox
    Have you tried plugging it into your computer, you could have shorted the port.
     
  6. sp

    spitfire0852 Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    Yeah it lights up in the pc and the other USB ports in the Xbox but a got a 4-port USB 2.0 Hub AC powered
     
  7. xIIJazza

    xIIJazza Gods divine one
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Console:
    Xbox
    Don't use that.... That spreads out most of the power, just plug it into the back of the usb slot provided with xKey
     
  8. sp

    spitfire0852 Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    Yeah I plugged the USB chord from the hub into the USB slot that came with the xk3y but it still didn't work ):
     
  9. IIEvolution85II

    IIEvolution85II Gamerscore Wreckage :) Gold Subscriber
    0/47

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4,880
    Likes Received:
    705
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    XPG all the Time!!!!
    Console:
    Xbox
    Use a USB HDD with power plug supplied.

    DON'T USE A USB STICK as you will run into so many problem ;)

    I have a x-key running with a 2TB WD HDD with external power and have no problems but when i used to use a USB HDD with no external power the x-key decided to not work most of the time or read the HDD.

    Hope this helps ;)
     
  10. Aa

    Aaron 0x539
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK.
    Console:
    Xbox
    I'm using a 32GB USB o.o
    The xk3y broke my 1tb WD :/
     
  11. Di

    DisconnectingHD Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im having the same issue it was working put i had to change some of configs and now it wont pull up mixed media
     
  12. ki

    kidz14 Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    so after hammering my head, having the issue where the xkey was working, like iso menu was coming up on the xkey and I able to select games from the xkey, but the xbox would just say open tray after opening and closing and doing a quick read. I wasn't getting the play game or mixed media disc message. so i opened the xbox back up and well it turns out the sata cable was loose, so i hot glued it in place and i no longer have this issue. Hope this helps some.
     
  13. xxxAcid

    xxxAcid R* Chick
    35/47

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    35
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    P.A
    Location:
    England
    Console:
    Xbox One
    this thread is almost slapstick. I dont know nothing about xkey other than what it does (LT3.0 all day) just a quick browse through the post makes me think this is down to the recent dash update been as 2 of you got the problem same time as update but i know nothing as i say
     

Share This Page

Close