unable to read original disc ??

jayt180703 Jan 3, 2012

  1. jayt180703

    jayt180703 i think ive broke it
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    PLAYBOY MANSION .
    Console:
    Xbox
    right here we go i hope this is in the right spot apologies if it isnt .
    ive got an old fat elite it was flashed a few months ago with LT.20 up until then played all originals without a problem since it was flashed it wont play original gears 3 but will play backup ???? its a mystery does it need a new laser any1 have any ideas before i start taking it apart ..cheers ..
     
  2. Dylandy05

    Dylandy05 The Blue Waffle Power Ranger Lifetime Gold
    125/188

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rochdale
    Console:
    Playstation 4
    gears 3 is in the new format could be why m8
     
  3. jayt180703

    jayt180703 i think ive broke it
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    PLAYBOY MANSION .
    Console:
    Xbox
    i see but on my other 360 upstairs that still has LT2.0 on it original and backup both play fine im thinking it might be the laser needs changing never done 1 before the drive thats playing up is a liteon and the only spare drive ive got is a vad6038 any chance ittl fit ??
     
  4. ccaveman84

    ccaveman84 XPG Mod Freak XPG Developer
    0/47

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4,308
    Likes Received:
    1,078
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Console:
    Xbox
    what drive do you have?

    I had this problem with 2 Hitachi drives they would read xgd2 orig and backup but not XGD2 AP2.5/XGD3 orig or backup

    I also had problems with 3 of my benq drives which I think turned out to be bad lasers needing a pot tweak
     
  5. ccaveman84

    ccaveman84 XPG Mod Freak XPG Developer
    0/47

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4,308
    Likes Received:
    1,078
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Console:
    Xbox
    yes you can sub a BenQ for a LiteOn I have done this with a couple of consoles with no come backs as of yet

    you can swap out
    BenQ for LiteOn
    Sammy for Hitachi

    You can not swap out
    Hitachi for BenQ or LiteOn
    Sammy for a BenQ or LiteOn

    the reason being is that because a Hitachi/Sammy are non AP2.5 drives
    and BenQ/LiteOn are AP2.5 drives and visa verse it confuses the consoles and will no play some games.

    Just make sure the key matches the original drive key.
     
  6. jayt180703

    jayt180703 i think ive broke it
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    PLAYBOY MANSION .
    Console:
    Xbox
    cheers for that cavey whats this pot tweak op youve peformed ill give that a try 1st cheers ..
     
  7. Dylandy05

    Dylandy05 The Blue Waffle Power Ranger Lifetime Gold
    125/188

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rochdale
    Console:
    Playstation 4
    hope it gets fixed m8
     
  8. ccaveman84

    ccaveman84 XPG Mod Freak XPG Developer
    0/47

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4,308
    Likes Received:
    1,078
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Console:
    Xbox
    Not a problem mate

    You need a Multimeter this is most important when tweaking your drive
    doing so without one can and more than likely will kill the laser.

    By your laser you will see 2 screws

    Try tweaking the pot anywhere from 4Kohm-6.4Kohm by turning the screw counter clockwise
    1 turn at a time, little by little (Millimeter turns)

    and test using the multimeter before trying again as the tiniest movement can make a big difference to the way the drive reads.

    DO NOT tweak any lower than 3.2Kohm this will do damage to your drive in the long run.

    Lowering the POT on your drive increase the power output from your laser enabling it to focus better
    The screw highlighted tweaks the power, the second screw changes the width of the laser.
    [​IMG]
    Not my picture but I'm being lazy atm lol
     
  9. jayt180703

    jayt180703 i think ive broke it
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    PLAYBOY MANSION .
    Console:
    Xbox
    hello again id thought id give an update on this basically i took apart the drive replaced it with a used benq laser which i knew was fine put it all back together and theres no power at all ???? i dont know whats happened to it so i put back in old laser and theres no power to that aswell im hoping that i havent damaged the pcb in anyway ive read that you have to remove the anti static ball but that only applies to new lasers dosent it i am stumped to be honest im hoping that i can get it working or else ive lost the dvd key any1 got any ideas i can try ??
     

Share This Page

Close