[Tutorial] Loading Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag with FSD

Met Oct 25, 2013

  1. Met

    Met Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    [​IMG]

    Note: Disc 1 is for Single Player and Disc 2 is for Multiplayer Mode.


    For those who are having problems loading the game via FSD, Here's a workaround you can try...

    Tested with External and Internal Hard Drive.
    The folder structure used is as follows :

    Games \ Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag \ Disc 1 \ Extracted Files.
    Games \ Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag \ Disc 2 \ Extracted Files. (Optional Multiplayer Mode)

    (Multiplayer Not Tested)

    Workaround:

    For Single Player, Launch "scimitar_final.xex" file within Disc 1 folder using FSD File Manager.

    You can also delete the original default.xex file from Disc 1 folder and rename "scimitar_final.xex" to "default.xex" and launch game as normal.

    If you're not using FSD then just make sure you boot your console straight to Original NXE dashboard and launch the game in GOD Format or XEX Format using xexmenu.


    Tested on:

    XBOX 360 Slim 4GB Corona
    RGH Glitch 2
    Dash: 16537
    320GB Internal Hard Drive(OEM/Third Party)
    FSD 3 rev 775
    xexmenu
    DashLaunch 3.10


    Issues occurred before workaround:
    • Black Screen Hang.
     
    • Like Like x 6
  2. mickdoc

    mickdoc Banned BANNED
    25/47

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    25
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Flamesville
    Console:
    Xbox
    mine works fine mate
     
  3. fbi007

    fbi007 Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    Thank You Dude you help me out !! :gamer4:
     
  4. Met

    Met Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    No Problem. :D
     
  5. To

    TomasLacerda Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    You solved my problem mate, big thanks mate.

    Cheers.
     
  6. ma

    marko2013 Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    can some one send mi a link for download?
    i tried to put it in a dvd but at the beginning it spot
    please help
     
  7. Ph

    Phsyco Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    Thanks a bunch, this fixed all my issues. Your awesome =)
     
  8. jtc883

    jtc883 Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Console:
    Xbox
    Thanks a ton, this was frustrating the hell outta me.
     
  9. Beermoney

    Beermoney Chief Administrator Staff Member XPG Administrator XPG Moderator Gold Subscriber Lifetime Gold
    505/564

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,304
    Likes Received:
    3,659
    Trophy Points:
    505
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Ban Hammer
    Location:
    The U.S.A.
    Home Page:
    Console:
    Xbox One
    Excellent! Works perfect now. TY
     
  10. HOKKUSPOKKUS

    HOKKUSPOKKUS XPG
    105/188

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    569
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    French /Paris :-)
    Console:
    Xbox
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. gr

    greemme Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi

    Thank you for informing about this workaround for single player.

    I re-named 'scimitar_final.xex' to 'default.xex' and managed to launch the game from FSD with no issues.
    After playing the game for a while, I read that there was a title update out. So I downloaded it from FSD and applied it.
    But it doesn't work, it shows 'version mismatch' and game will not launch. It will boot back to FSD.

    How do I apply title updates to this workaround?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  12. Met

    Met Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    Refer to the following Thread Post:

    [post='452541']Loading Batman: Arkham Origins with FSD Post #9[/post]
    It applies similar principles whereas "scimitar_final.xex" should be launched instead and remember not to alter any files before using Title Updates.
     
  13. gr

    greemme Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the reply.

    I will try as you posted, i.e. download and insert title update manually, not alter any files, and launch the game with scimitar_final.sex with fsd file manager. Correct?

    If so, that would mean that there is no way to get title updates to work for the 'renaming scimitar_final.xex' method?
     
  14. Met

    Met Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    That's right, Renaming the necessary files will not work with Title Updates and it requires the original default.xex as well so do not delete any files or alter them.
     
  15. gr

    greemme Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks a lot, I will try it.
    Happy gaming.
     
  16. Aa

    Aaron 0x539
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK.
    Console:
    Xbox
    My BlackFlag's works fine without doing this o_O
     
  17. gr

    greemme Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Meaning you can have title update to work when you rename scimitar_final.sex to default.xex, and launch game from fsd?
     
  18. Met

    Met Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    Sure, Let us know if it works.
     
  19. gr

    greemme Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello again,

    Just some info and update. I had some time 2 nights ago, so I went and tried to test load AC4.

    I re-named the both files back to their original names, ie. scimitar_final.xex and default.xex. I then manually downloaded the TU and placed them in my internal HDD, under Content \ 0000000000000000 \ 555308C2 \ 000B0000.

    Before I manually launched scimitar_final.xex, I thought, why not try to launch game from FSD? Since it was back to original files setup now. I tried that, and strangely, it worked! I even went back out to FSD, downloaded TU from FSD and activated it (TU highlighted in green under 'Manage TU' option), and attempted to launch game from FSD. The game launched and played successfully again.. I am not sure what changed, but apparently, it was just re-naming of the files back to their original names so it was back to original files setup. I did not change anything else.

    Unfortunately, after some hours of playing the game, it crashed.. showing 'Fatal crash intercepted', and booted back to FSD. :(
    I then tried to start up the game from FSD again.... this time, it went true to form and i got the black screen hang. I could not load up the game from FSD that time.

    What is 'Fatal crash intercepted'? I hope it is not something serious that will force me to abandon playing the game, i quite enjoyed it.

    Any ideas too on the inconsistencies when launching the game using FSD?

    I was too tired after that, so I did not try manually launching game from scimitar_final.xex. Which I guess should work? :S
    Once I find some time, I will try again and try to give an update. Any useful info or feedback in the meantime will be much appreciated, Thanks!

    Edit: I only have DVD1 extracted, I do not have DVD2 as it is multi-player.
     
  20. Met

    Met Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    Yes, Launch the game manually with "scimitar_final.xex" using FSD file manager.

    The fatal crash intercepted error can be due to anything from hardware to software related issues but the fatal crash errors I had so far are from things:like using unstable/Incompatible Trainers, Corrupted DLC, Incompatible Title Updates, Daslaunch and long hours of gameplay.

    I had a few fatal crashes with Batman: Arkham Origins and once with Battlefield 4 but figured it may due to the duration of the gameplay which was about 6-8 hours each game and not to forget that games like these and probably newer games will tend to take up more memory during gameplay and may cause overheating which results to Fatal crashes so just let your console cool off after a long gameplay before continuing a game.
     

Share This Page

Close