Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Rgh With Bricked Dvd Drive

SlopeyAU Jul 14, 2012

  1. SlopeyAU

    SlopeyAU Smile, you're in my scope. Gold Subscriber
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Console:
    Playstation 4
    Hey guys, like the title says. Is it possible to RGH a Falcon that has a bricked (bad flash) LiteOn DVD drive?

    My problem altogether is that i wanted to just swap the bricked LiteOn to a BenQ, but i forgot to grab the DVD drive key. So my theory is that if i can RGH with a bricked drive and grab the nand and what not, then when it is RGH'd i can grab the DVD drive key from the motherboard and write it to the BenQ. Thus leaving me with a fresh RGH without the E64 error and a new BenQ added.

    Any help is appreciated,
    Thanks,
    SlopeyAU.

    Edit: - P.S. Console hasn't been updated in around a year.
     
  2. begallegal1

    begallegal1 Medicine Man Lifetime Gold TeamXPG
    0/47

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3,699
    Likes Received:
    3,108
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a Field of Green
    Console:
    Xbox
    What dash is the xbox on currently?

    if it's 15XXX your out of luck unless teamX can sort the update for RGH3
     
  3. SlopeyAU

    SlopeyAU Smile, you're in my scope. Gold Subscriber
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Console:
    Playstation 4
    Console hasn't been updated in around a year, if that helps?
     
  4. begallegal1

    begallegal1 Medicine Man Lifetime Gold TeamXPG
    0/47

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3,699
    Likes Received:
    3,108
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a Field of Green
    Console:
    Xbox
    yes then you should be able to RGH the console, But honestly if you do, you will care less about the drive then, lol , it will be a secondary thought at that point, only used for occasional disc ripping or menu launching. (unless want it for online use in that case, you then repair the drive, remove the RGH, and flash nand back to retail/stock)
     
  5. SlopeyAU

    SlopeyAU Smile, you're in my scope. Gold Subscriber
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Console:
    Playstation 4
    Right, i understand. So when it is RGH'd i can just chuck in an external HDD and use like normal?

    because i was thinking that if i RGH'd and the drive was still bricked then it would still give me the E64 error and not boot up. That's the only reason why i was gonna swap the drives, but if it boots up and skips the error then i am fine with that.
     
  6. IIEvolution85II

    IIEvolution85II Gamerscore Wreckage :) Gold Subscriber
    0/47

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4,881
    Likes Received:
    705
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    XPG all the Time!!!!
    Console:
    Xbox
    Yes once you RGH the console you wont need the drive anyway ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. begallegal1

    begallegal1 Medicine Man Lifetime Gold TeamXPG
    0/47

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3,699
    Likes Received:
    3,108
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a Field of Green
    Console:
    Xbox
    yeah you will then use the external to load your games (xbox Hdd can also be used but usually lacks in space)

    You can fix the bricked drive once you have the DVD key or just remove it entirely and jumper the dvd power cable pins like this to keep the center light from flashing

    [​IMG]


    NOTE: if this is all due to a pesky E64 error that is because your drive does not have the correct firmware flashed to it (or is wrong model drive) ,,you can simply flash the correct FW and though without the DVD key correct you will only be able to play cd's and DVD's ,,(not games) but the console will then boot without error
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. SlopeyAU

    SlopeyAU Smile, you're in my scope. Gold Subscriber
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Console:
    Playstation 4
    Ahh, too easy. :)

    Cheers for that guys, thanked and +repped the both of you. ;)

    Also Begal, you can go ahead and close this topic now if you can.

    Cheers,
    SlopeyAU.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. begallegal1

    begallegal1 Medicine Man Lifetime Gold TeamXPG
    0/47

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3,699
    Likes Received:
    3,108
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a Field of Green
    Console:
    Xbox
    Nice topic Slopey, covered some good ground here about solving a few common issues and questions :good:

    Closed topic upon OP's request and moved to Jtag RGH Resolved issues section
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Close