Is ite asy/risky to swap a 360 dvd drive

kaw May 8, 2011

  1. kaw

    kaw Newbie
    155/188

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Console:
    Xbox
    On one of my console the drive doesnt play anything any more, if i was to open the 360 up and swap the drive with a new dvd drive, would it cause any problems and wouldbe risky. The 360 is out of warranty anyway
     
  2. ADDZ

    ADDZ ( * Y * ) Staff Member XPG Founder
    565/752

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,917
    Likes Received:
    6,684
    Trophy Points:
    565
    Location:
    Behind you sniffing your hair!
    Console:
    Playstation 4
    You would need to get the "drive" key from your current drive and flash it to a new drive, depending on what drive it is you might need tools to do it also you could just try to repair your broken drive 1st.
     
  3. Bezza

    Bezza Naughty but Nice XPG Retired Staff
    205/282

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6,362
    Likes Received:
    1,085
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Console:
    Xbox One
    you would have to reflash the new drive with your old drives key and it would work fine.
    If you wanted to use it on xbox live tho you would need the same drive so you dont need to spoof it as the fw out right now dont hide spoofed drives from Microsoft
     
  4. Bullet

    Bullet XPG Original Founder EST 2000 XPG Administrator XPG Founder
    550/564

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20,982
    Likes Received:
    7,959
    Trophy Points:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    Console:
    Xbox
    If its just giving " open tray " error then they are simple to fix.
    It will need either the laser recalibrating , or replacing. In either case its very straight forward.

    Difficulty out of ten: 3/10
     
  5. imcool875

    imcool875 Gold Member Gold Subscriber
    55/94

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Console:
    Xbox
    also if they are the same drive and you dont/cant flash it, you could just open it up and unhook the chip-board in the broken drive and replace it in the new drive... it will work fine as long as the drives your swapping the chip-board in are the same! it comes right out with just a few clip unhooks
     
  6. kaw

    kaw Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    Console:
    Xbox
    That is the error im getting, it reads only a few discs and most just doesnt even try. I knew it wouldne be a simple drive swap lol. How to you fix that one then, thanks everyone for the help
     
  7. splatsters

    splatsters PS3 Section Mod Gold Subscriber
    155/188

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,876
    Likes Received:
    376
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Location:
    In the bush like a pepping tom
    Console:
    Xbox
    What drive do you have
    , you could just replace the lens which is not hard at all

    If its a liteon on then in my experience its most like the drive
    but if its a hitachi , benq, samsung then a lens 9/10 fixs that problem your having
     

Share This Page

Close