Flashed Disc Drive causing Xbox not to power

xGoggles Jun 13, 2013

  1. xGoggles

    xGoggles Member
    0/47

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tipton, West Midlands
    Console:
    Xbox
    So, last night I was playing a nice game of battlefield, when suddenly my Xbox crashed. I didn't know what caused it at the time, but I know it's my disc drive. I have put another disc drive in to see if it was the flashed one, and the spare one would allow me to power on my Xbox. Now, i'm stuck!

    I have no idea what is the cause nor the fix, so I reverted to you guys for help! Anyone here know what's going on? And is there a possible fix? Thanks.
     
  2. jayt180703

    jayt180703 i think ive broke it
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    PLAYBOY MANSION .
    Console:
    Xbox
    so if you still put in the flashed drive does it power on as this is a strange one too me have you checked the cables are fully inserted .
     
  3. xGoggles

    xGoggles Member
    45/47

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tipton, West Midlands
    Console:
    Xbox
    When i put the flashed drive in my xbox does not boot up fully and yeah ive checked them
     
  4. X9Cinema

    X9Cinema Resident GFX Guru Lifetime Gold
    0/47

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    US
    Console:
    Xbox
    What color is your power brick with the flashed drive in and trying to boot?
     
  5. jayt180703

    jayt180703 i think ive broke it
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    PLAYBOY MANSION .
    Console:
    Xbox
    how do you mean not boot up fully is this an old phat console if so maybe its about to have a system error about to happen .
     
  6. xGoggles

    xGoggles Member
    45/47

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tipton, West Midlands
    Console:
    Xbox
    The power button will keep flashing green.

    My powerbrick is green.
     
  7. dev

    dev Troll XPG Developer Lifetime Gold
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    736
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    this is a silly question but did you put your dvd key on the new drive you put in ?
     
  8. xGoggles

    xGoggles Member
    45/47

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tipton, West Midlands
    Console:
    Xbox
    No, I only swapped them over to see if it was actually the flashed drive that was causing the xbox not to boot up.
     
  9. jayt180703

    jayt180703 i think ive broke it
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    PLAYBOY MANSION .
    Console:
    Xbox
    the only thing that may be stopping it from booting is something shorting it out then inside that drive check inside for foreign objects loose or touching wires but if it was working fine flashed then just stopped and froze id say it would have been more of an overheating gpu error its a mystery because even if the drive was bad flashed it would still boot when powered on .
     
  10. dev

    dev Troll XPG Developer Lifetime Gold
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    736
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    have u tried booting the console up with out any drive in ?
     
  11. xGoggles

    xGoggles Member
    45/47

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tipton, West Midlands
    Console:
    Xbox
    I have booted the console up with another drive and it works perfect! I think booting it up without one will get me flagged!
     
  12. jayt180703

    jayt180703 i think ive broke it
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    PLAYBOY MANSION .
    Console:
    Xbox
    you may have to in order to get to the bottom of this ive had my 360 booted up onlive plenty of times with no drive in and nothings happened to me .
     
  13. xGoggles

    xGoggles Member
    45/47

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tipton, West Midlands
    Console:
    Xbox
    ill boot it up without the drive in a sec
     
  14. xGoggles

    xGoggles Member
    45/47

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tipton, West Midlands
    Console:
    Xbox
    I've booted it up without the drive its working fine but the green light on the power button keeps flashing
     
  15. jayt180703

    jayt180703 i think ive broke it
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    PLAYBOY MANSION .
    Console:
    Xbox
    yeah thats normal it will blink to say theres no drive present try opening the drive up like i said check all looks ok wires traces etc .
     
  16. ccaveman84

    ccaveman84 XPG Mod Freak XPG Developer
    0/47

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4,308
    Likes Received:
    1,085
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Console:
    Xbox
    if the light keeps flashing it could be a Firmware error (Maybe some corruption in the firmware) causing the issue
    in which case you will need to re flash the drive and hopefully it will help.

    Also this could be an issue with the Sata connection on your drive as it seems that the Xbox is thinking that there is no drive connected hence the flashing light acting like it is ejecting.
     
  17. xGoggles

    xGoggles Member
    45/47

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tipton, West Midlands
    Console:
    Xbox
    I've just had a look at the wire and they look fine to me
     
  18. jayt180703

    jayt180703 i think ive broke it
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    PLAYBOY MANSION .
    Console:
    Xbox
    well this one is a mystery then are you able to reflash it yourself try what ccaveman has suggested but to be honest if you flahed it yourself and jungleflasher loaded the correct firmware for you then i highly doubt it is the firmware as you said you where playing on it previously what drive is it mate i do have spares if you need one .

    and im close to you im in walsall .
     
  19. xGoggles

    xGoggles Member
    45/47

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    45
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tipton, West Midlands
    Console:
    Xbox
    I had my drive flashed at Coseley Consoles if you know it. Ive got a spare BenQ drive but my flash one is a lite on
     
  20. jayt180703

    jayt180703 i think ive broke it
    0/47

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    PLAYBOY MANSION .
    Console:
    Xbox
    yeah i know it mate fancy goin there when i could have done it for you .

    and you wont be able to flash zoure drive key from a liteon to a benq it will flash the kez over but zou will get an e66 error if you do so .
     

Share This Page

Close