Fixing error 74?

dr goodwin Nov 25, 2011

  1. dr goodwin

    dr goodwin Lifetime Gold Lifetime Gold
    155/188

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Braunfels, Texas
    Console:
    Xbox
    Alright, so my xbox have the error 74 when I try to start it. I was told this was due to faulty AV cables, so I bought a new one but I still get the error. Some history on my xbox: it got the red ring so I swapped the chassis with an xbox that was already converted to fixing it, same everything except metal casing, i play with it open (can see the disk drive ect), is flashed, and right before it got the error; I was playing skyrim and the colors got extremely distorted, exept when I pressed the xbox menu button it was not distorted but the game in the background still was. I turned it off, ate dinner, and when I turned it back on it had the error 74.

    Is there anyway to fix this?
     
  2. Dylandy05

    Dylandy05 The Blue Waffle Power Ranger Lifetime Gold
    125/188

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rochdale
    Console:
    Playstation 4
    needs a reflow by looks of thigs but id double check thought
     
  3. T0

    T0x1cHax0rz Newbie
    0/47

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Console:
    Xbox
    Yes a reflow would defiantly fix that. Is it HDMI? If yes, it could be the GPU or the HANA chip. If no, its most likely the GPU. A reflow generally costs around 30 dollars and you can find various sellers near you online, or try it yourself and probably ruin it as i am guessing you have no experience in re flowing. If it is indeed the GPU, you may be able to fix it yourself with an xclamp fix kit online, generally 2 dollars for the basic set on ebay if you want. But i recommend a reflow.
     
  4. villan4eva

    villan4eva Ultimate Ninja!
    0/47

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,987
    Likes Received:
    169
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    On A Long Road To Ninja-ness!!
    Console:
    Xbox
    Will Need A Reflow On The HANA Chip But To Be Sure Do The HANA/GPU/CPU All Together Bullet Has Got A Tut Which I Followed And It Worked A Treat
     
  5. splatsters

    splatsters PS3 Section Mod Gold Subscriber
    155/188

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,876
    Likes Received:
    376
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Location:
    In the bush like a pepping tom
    Console:
    Xbox
    Yep 100% a reflow

    do all including the ram chips
    best advice Buy some liquid flux to inject under the chips before you reflow them it helps ALLOT :)
     

Share This Page

Close